Fraudsters hijack PayPal's site in phishing attack

The genuine PayPal SSL certificate is used by the scam

Written by Dinah Greek, Computeractive

A security flaw in the PayPal web site is being actively exploited by fraudsters to steal customers' credit card numbers and other personal information.

The issue was reported to security company Netcraft today via its anti-phishing toolbar. What is particularly dangerous and convincing about this scam is that it starts at a page hosted on the PayPal website and is using a valid security certificate.

Netcraft said users are initially tricked into accessing a URL hosted on the genuine PayPal web site.

Advertisement

The web address (URL) uses SSL to encrypt information transmitted to and from the site, and a valid 256-bit SSL certificate is presented to confirm that the site does indeed belong to PayPal.

However, some of the content on the page has been modified by the fraudsters via a cross-site scripting technique (XSS).

When the victim visits the page, they are presented with a message that has been 'injected' onto the genuine PayPal site that says: "Your account is currently disabled because we think it has been accessed by a third party. You will now be redirected to Resolution Center."

After a short pause, the victim is then redirected to an external server, which presents a fake PayPal Member log-in page.

At this crucial point, victims may be off guard, as the paypal.com domain name and SSL certificate previously seen are intended to suggest they have visited the genuine PayPal web site.

Victims therefore don't expect PayPal to redirect them to a fraudulent web site. If a victim logs in via the fake login page, their PayPal username and password is transmitted to the fraudsters.

Users are subsequently presented with another page which asks them to enter further details to remove limits on the access of their account.

Information requested includes social security number, credit card number, expiration date, card verification number and ATM PIN.

The server currently running the scam is hosted in Korea and is accessed via a hex-encoded IP address. The Netcraft Toolbar already protects PayPal users by blocking access to this site.

We have contacted PayPal for comment but have had no reply as yet.

Tags:

Reader comments

More from Computeractive

News

The latest home computing news

Downloads

The best PC tools, applications and more

Reviews

Independent opinions on new hardware and software

Step-by-step guides

Easy-to-follow projects with pictures

PC Help

Solve PC problems with our Q&A

Videos

PC projects demonstrated and product reviews

Articles

An in-depth look at how to get the best from your PC

Magazine

What's coming up in Computeractive

Forums

Get help with your PC problems from our readers

Competitions

Your chance to win computing prizes

Shopping

Great deals on products, services and more

NEW! Computeractive CD Rom 11
All 26 issues of Computeractive from 2008 on one CD-Rom.

Ultimate Guide to Disc Burning
Everything you need to know about creating your own discs.

Create your own calendars softwareCreate your own Calendars
The fun and easy way to create your own calendars!

Computeractive - Issue 280Computeractive Back Issues
Missed an issue? Click here to find a back issue

Blogs

Windows Watch

Windows Watch

Keeping an eye on the latest XP and Vista news

Outlook 2007 email controversy

One of the major changes in Outlook 2007 had nothing to do with the Ribbon but that Word was used to display...

Download Junkie

Download Junkie

Your daily dose of download discussion

Backup important data with SyncBack SE

Keeping certain files backed up helps to keep items safe in case anything disastrous happens to your computer, but although most of...

Advertisement

Free email newsletters

Techno babble demystified...

[Display all definitions]

Or type in any computer-related word and click "Go"

Advertisement

Computeractive is not reponsible for content of Google adverts

Primary Navigation

© Incisive Media Ltd. 2009. Incisive Media Limited, Haymarket House, 28-29 Haymarket, London SW1Y 4RX, is a company registered in England and Wales with company registration number 04038503

Search computeractive.co.uk