Antispyware message used to spread Trojan

Email has Bancos embedded

Written by Dinah Greek, Computeractive

People are being warned of an email claiming to be from an anti-spyware company that is being used to spread a new Trojan-downloader.

According to BlackSpider Technologies, the email is a classic example of social engineering and tries to fool people into believing it is from a genuine company, in this case SpysoftCentral.

Purportedly from the customer service department the company, it claims to be confirming subscription to one of its products and mentions the deduction of £79.39 from the recipient’s credit card account.

Advertisement

The email claims that the attachment contains the detailed invoice – when the attachment is opened, however, Trojan-Downloader.Bancos is downloaded. The Trojan can then be used to download new malware on to the PC.

The body of the email reads:

SPY DOCTOR / Order : DD269901/

This e-mail was generated by a mail handling system. Please do not reply to the address listed in the "From" field.
Please read the CUSTOMER SERVICE section for answers to your questions.

Dear Madame/Sir,

Thank you for your order. Spysoftcentral processes orders and collects payments on behalf of PC Tools.

Your credit card (VISA) has been debited with GBP 79.39 and the level of credit card authorization has been changed.
Please note that "WWW.SPYSOFTCENTRAL.COM" will appear on your credit card statement, and not the name of the publisher (PC Tools).

You will receive detailed information on the shipment in a separate e-mail that was sent at the same time as this e-mail.

SUBSCRIPTION
The following product involves a subscription:

Spyware Doctor - 3-months subscription
Duration of the subscription: Until cancelled Payment interval: every 3 months Order Date: 19 JUL 2006

The attachment to this e-mail includes an invoice for your order.

TECHNICAL SUPPORT

If you have any content-related or technical questions about the product, please contact PC Tools directly.

Sincerely,
Your Spysoftcentral Team

James Kay, CTO, BlackSpider Technologies, said: "This is not the first time virus writers have used PC users’ anxiety over spyware to entice them to open a malicious attachment.

" As far as social engineering goes, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if lots of people were duped by this ploy."

Tags:

Reader comments

More from Computeractive

News

The latest home computing news

Downloads

The best PC tools, applications and more

Reviews

Independent opinions on new hardware and software

Step-by-step guides

Easy-to-follow projects with pictures

PC Help

Solve PC problems with our Q&A

Videos

PC projects demonstrated and product reviews

Articles

An in-depth look at how to get the best from your PC

Magazine

What's coming up in Computeractive

Forums

Get help with your PC problems from our readers

Competitions

Your chance to win computing prizes

Shopping

Great deals on products, services and more

NEW! Computeractive CD Rom 11
All 26 issues of Computeractive from 2008 on one CD-Rom.

Ultimate Guide to Disc Burning
Everything you need to know about creating your own discs.

Create your own calendars softwareCreate your own Calendars
The fun and easy way to create your own calendars!

Computeractive - Issue 280Computeractive Back Issues
Missed an issue? Click here to find a back issue

Blogs

Windows Watch

Windows Watch

Keeping an eye on the latest XP and Vista news

Outlook 2007 email controversy

One of the major changes in Outlook 2007 had nothing to do with the Ribbon but that Word was used to display...

Download Junkie

Download Junkie

Your daily dose of download discussion

Backup important data with SyncBack SE

Keeping certain files backed up helps to keep items safe in case anything disastrous happens to your computer, but although most of...

Advertisement

Free email newsletters

Techno babble demystified...

[Display all definitions]

Or type in any computer-related word and click "Go"

Advertisement

Computeractive is not reponsible for content of Google adverts

Primary Navigation

© Incisive Media Ltd. 2009. Incisive Media Limited, Haymarket House, 28-29 Haymarket, London SW1Y 4RX, is a company registered in England and Wales with company registration number 04038503

Search computeractive.co.uk