Website leaves customers anxious about orders

Web shoppers fear Wii Fit con

Consumers worry they have been duped by website using high-street retailer's name

Written by Dinah Greek, Computeractive

Hundreds of people who have placed orders with an online shopping site called Zavvi Direct fear they will not receive their goods.

Computeractive has learned that more than 2,000 consumers may have placed orders with the company, many of them trying to buy the hard-to-get Nintendo Wii Fit device.

However, customers have flooded internet forums voicing fears that they have been conned.

Advertisement

At least one customer reported to us that she had been charged twice for goods that have not arrived.

To add to consumer concerns the website, which took its first orders on 3 June, was forced offline shortly after 13 June for infringing the trademark of high street retailer Zavvi, formerly known as Virgin Megastore.

“We believe that they were misleading people by using our brand name and colours,” a Zavvi representative told Computeractive.

Claire Pinner, who ordered a Wii Fit, agreed: “I feel really stupid, but I thought I was dealing with the high street retailer Zavvi,” she said. She has not been alone in making this assumption

The website in question, www.zavvidirect.co.uk, is registered to a sole trader named Paul Clayton in Brighton. We talked to a Paul Clayton in nearby Hove who is showing in Companies House as the director of this company. However he denied any connection with the site or the company.

We contacted Zavvi Direct by telephone and one Simon Bishop denied any wrong doing told us the company had given refunds to some customers and would have the Wii Fit in stock by 20 June. The company director Paul Clayton also emailed saying the same thing. However, doubt has been cast on whether it will be able to fulfil the orders it has received.

“We would love to know where this company is getting its stock of the Wii Fit from. In the UK and Europe it is in such high demand and short supply no one can get their hands on enough – even us,” a representative for the high-street chain Zavvi told us.

Andrew Goodwill, director of anti-fraud specialists the 3rd Man, said that people have to be careful when shopping online.

“If goods are in short demand and a site claims to have a lot of stock, people should be suspicious. This is a common modus operandi and is used regularly by people committing fraud online,” he said.

The zavvidirect site and other websites using the Zavvi name that have nothing to do with the high-street chain are linked to a company called Zavvi Direct Ltd. It was incorporated as company No. 06495386 on 6 February 2008. The Zavvi Direct company director is Paul Clayton and the company and all the websites use the address: 20 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1EL.

Additional sites include Zavvisports.co.uk, a site selling sports clothing and accessories. They have different suffixes such as .com or have hyphenated names. These are also being investigated by the high-street chain Zavvi’s lawyers.

Reader comments

More from Computeractive

News

The latest home computing news

Downloads

The best PC tools, applications and more

Reviews

Independent opinions on new hardware and software

Step-by-step guides

Easy-to-follow projects with pictures

PC Help

Solve PC problems with our Q&A

Videos

PC projects demonstrated and product reviews

Articles

An in-depth look at how to get the best from your PC

Magazine

What's coming up in Computeractive

Forums

Get help with your PC problems from our readers

Competitions

Your chance to win computing prizes

Shopping

Great deals on products, services and more

Computeractive Back Issue CD-Rom 12
All 26 issues of Computeractive from 2009 on one CD-Rom.

Ultimate Guide to Free Computing
Find out how you can get free software, services and more!

Learn to use Windows 7
Learn to use Windows 7
Everything you need to know about using Windows 7!

Computeractive - Issue 280Computeractive Back Issues
Missed an issue? Click here to find a back issue

Blogs

Windows Watch

Windows Watch

Keeping an eye on the latest XP and Vista news

Norton Smartphone Security for Android: First Photos

Exclusive first photos of Symantec's Smartphone Security for Android, taken at Symantec's headquarters. Story here .

Download Junkie

Download Junkie

Your daily dose of download discussion

Browse the web wherever you are with Firefox Portable

If you regularly use the Internet for work, you'll probably have a selection of tools you use on a daily basis to...

Advertisement

Free email newsletters

Techno babble demystified...

[Display all definitions]

Or type in any computer-related word and click "Go"

Advertisement

Computeractive is not reponsible for content of Google adverts

Primary Navigation

© Incisive Media Investments Limited 2010, Published by Incisive Financial Publishing Limited, Haymarket House, 28-29 Haymarket, London SW1Y 4RX, are companies registered in England and Wales with company registration numbers 04252091 & 04252093

Search computeractive.co.uk
opfine.com - markets sentiment analysis